Why are cell phones called cell phones?

Rae Young. They proposed a network composed of hexagonal cells to allow mobile phones in cars to operate from one spot to another seamlessly. Their network layout resembled that of a biological cell, hence the term cellular, but the technology to implement their concept didn't exist at the time.