How many pomegranate seeds are in a pomegranate?

There are around 613 seeds...some believe falsely the number is exact. Its a traditional food of Rosh Hashana as it is native to middle east and proliferated beyond since ancient times; also it is symbolic of fecundity and the alleged 613 seeds correspond to the number of commandments in the Torah.