How do you take temperatures under the armpit?

To take an underarm temperature, Place the tip of the thermometer in the centre of the armpit. Tuck the person's arm snugly against their body. Leave the thermometer in place for about 1 minute, until you hear the “beep” Then, remove the thermometer and read the temperature.