How many beats does a dotted half note have?

It depends on the time signiture. E.g., in 2 2, a 1/2 note gets one beat, so a dotted 1/2 note gets 1 & a half beats; In 4 4, a 1/2 note gets 2 beats, so a dotted 1/2 note gets 3 beats; in 6 8, a 1/2 note gets 4 beats, so a dotted 1/2 note gets 6 beats. And so on.