What's the difference in a hurricane and a typhoon?

The only difference between a hurricane and a typhoon is the location where the storm occurs. In the Atlantic and Northeast Pacific, the term “hurricane” is used. The same type of disturbance in the Northwest Pacific is called a “typhoon."