How do you tell the gender of a snail?

The shapes of snails' shells vary slightly between males and females. The males' shell openings are rounder, to accommodate extension of the penis during breeding. When the snail emerges from the shell, you'll see a noticeable penis sheath on the right side of the snail's body next to the gills.