Why do dogs sniff?

Dogs use their noses as the preferred way of exploring. Dogs have 50 times as many olfactory receptors as humans and the area of their brain that analyzes scent is 40 times that of the human area. This is why dogs are so good at finding lost people and sniffing out illegal substances.