How long does a poison ivy rash last?

Most rashes caused by poison ivy, poison oak, or poison sumac are mild and last from five to 12 days. In severe cases, the rash can last for 30 days or longer. See a doctor if you have a rash that lasts more than 12 days or is visibly spreading or painful