Why did they call the zodiac killer the zodiac killer?

the Zodiac Killer named himself the Zodiac in his letters to the police. Where that name came from is more the question. ideas are that he got it from his Zodiac watch he wore. the model he wore was a SeaWolf and had the crosshair symbol on its face