Do birds sleep with their eyes open?

Some birds can sleep with one eye open, resting half of their brain while the other half remains alert. It’s most common in species that sleep in open fields or water, like ducks and seabirds.

---

Some birds can sleep with one eye open, resting half of their brain while the other half remains alert. It's called unihemispheric slow-wave sleep. The ability is not limited to birds. ... It's most common in species that sleep in open fields or water, like ducks and seabirds.