Do birds sleep with their eyes open?

Some birds can sleep with one eye open, resting half of their brain while the other half remains alert. It's called unihemispheric slow-wave sleep. The ability is not limited to birds. ... It's most common in species that sleep in open fields or water, like ducks and seabirds.