When did murder become illegal?

At a federal level, the crime of murder was established by the Crimes Act of 1790, which was passed by the very first session of the US Congress. This act actually established quite a lot of federal crimes, of which murder is one.

---

Murder has been a crime ever since there were laws, the exact date is unknown.