When do you plant butternut squash?

The butternut squash growing season begins when all danger of frost is past and the soil is well warmed by the sun, about 60 to 65 F at a 4-inch depth. Butternut squash plants are extremely tender and the seedlings will freeze with the slightest frost and seeds will only germinate in warm soil.