Why do nails grow?

Nails start in the nail root, hidden under the cuticle and the new nail cells push out the old nail cells. These old cells flatten and harden, thanks to keratin, a protein made by these cells. The newly formed nail then slides along the nail bed, the flat surface under your nails.