Tell me about yellow jacket bees?

Yellow jackets are not bees--they are wasps. And they both sting AND bite, often biting to get a better grip when they sting. They are very aggressive and the stings are quite painful. They nest in the ground. The sound of a lawnmower above a nest can cause them to swarm out and sting.