What happens if i take too much melatonin?

Most surprising side effect of taking too much melatonin is hyperactivity, which is the exact opposite of what you want when you're trying to get to sleep. Too much melatonin can also cause crankiness, headaches, dizziness, gastrointestinal problems, joint pain, anxiety, and excessive sleepiness.