What was the attacks of september eleven two thousand one?

Terrorists flew two planes into World Trade Center in New York. Another plane crashed into the Pentagon. Passengers overpowered the hijackers who then crashed one plane into an open field. It is the worst terrorist attack in US history. 19 militant Islamist terrorists and nearly 3000 Americans died.