Where is the closest galaxy to the milky way?

The Andromeda Galaxy (M31) is the closest spiral galaxy to us, and though it's gravitationally bound to the Milky Way, it's not the closest galaxy by far – being 2 million light years away. Andromeda is currently approaching our galaxy at a speed of about 110 kilometers per second.