What makes salt kosher?

Kosher salt is coarse edible salt without additives such as iodine. The term kosher salt gained common usage in North America and refers to its use in the Jewish religious practice of dry brining meats, known as kashering, and not to the salt itself being manufactured under any religious guidelines.