What is the difference between whole milk and one percent milk?

The difference between whole milk and 1% low-fat milk is the amount of fat in each serving. An 8-ounce serving of 1% low-fat milk contains 2.5 grams of fat, compared to whole milk, which contains 8 grams of fat.