How do you know if your cat has a u. t. i.?

The most common symptoms of urinary tract infection in cats include reduced amounts of urine, straining to urinate, pain or discomfort when urinating, not urinating at all, urinating around the house (outside the litter box), and passing urine tinged with blood (pinkish color urine).