What was best picture in nineteen seventy two?

In 1972, the Academy Award for best picture went to The French Connection, directed by William Friedkin. It starred Gene Hackman and Roy Schneider. The screen play was written by Ernest Tidyman and it was all based on a book written by Robin Moore.