Tell me an example of figurative language?

Figurative language is phrasing that goes beyond the literal meaning of words to get a message or point across. Example: That metal door is as rusty as a copper colored cow and a cast iron pan it needs to be replaced now!

---

Figurative language is not strictly factual, but is used to express a deeper or more colorful meaning. If your child's teacher says "Your son was a shining star in my classroom," she means he's doing well in his schoolwork, not that he is a huge ball of burning hydrogen.