What is the definition of a stroke?

To rub, pump up with confidence

---

The definition of a stroke would be 1. an act of hitting or striking someone or something; a blow or another definition would also be a mark made by drawing a pen, pencil, or paintbrush in one direction across paper or canvas. An example of a stroke would be "he received three strokes of the cane".