What is the most venomous snake in virginia?

There are only three species of venomous snakes in Virginia. The copperhead (found statewide) is the most common. Timber rattlesnakes are common only in the mountainous regions of western Virginia. Water moccasins are found to the south and east of Petersburg and are common only in wet areas.