When was the book of genesis written?

1450 BC. Most Biblical scholars believe the Book of Genesis was the first book to be written down. This would have happened around 1450 BC to 1400 BC. So perhaps about 3400 years or so ago.

---

Current scholars estimate Genesis was first written down during Israel's captivity in Babylon during the 6th or 5th century B.C.