What does it mean if the groundhog does not see shadow?

According to the Pennsylvania Dutch superstition, if a groundhog does not see its shadow, it means that spring will arrive early. If it does see its shadow, it will go back to its den, and there will be six more weeks of winter.

---

The legend is simple: the groundhog's shadow on Feb. 2 predicts the weather for the next six weeks. A Cloudy day means the groundhog will not see his shadow and signals the start of an early spring. If he sees his shadow this will bring 6 more weeks of wintry weather.