What's the difference between scalloped and a gratin potatoes?

Scalloped potatoes are much simpler. Most recipes call for the potatoes to be baked in a basic cream sauce of milk and heavy cream. Potatoes au gratin are a bit more decadent. They are made with lots of cheese sprinkled in between the layers of potatoes and also on top of the casserole