Why isn't washington d. c. a state?

The lack of statehood for the capital is part of the Constitution. Article 1, Section 8, Clause 17 reads “Congress shall have Power To exercise exclusive Legislation in all Cases over such District not exceeding 10 Miles square...become the Seat of the Government of the United States.