How did doctor doom get his powers?

However,this inspires a new plan where Doom makes Valeria his familiar while seeking out her namesake as part of a deal with a trio of demons; by sacrificing his old lover,Doom is granted magical powers on the level he would possess if he had spent the past years studying sorcery rather than science