Can gold get wet?

Yes, and no. The answer depends largely on the definition of "wet". The term wet can be taken to mean "covered" or "saturated" with water. In the first case, gold can be "submerged" and in this context can be said to BE wet. However, gold cannot be saturated and in this sense cannot GET wet.