Who was the first black u. s. marshal?

In 1877, President Rutherford Hayes appointed Frederick Douglass the U.S. Marshal of the District of Columbia becoming the first African American confirmed for a Presidential appointment by the U.S. Senate. Bass Reeves was the first black deputy U.S. marshal west of the Mississippi River.