What do you put in roses to make them last longer?

Dissolve 3 tablespoons sugar and 2 tablespoons white vinegar per quart (liter) of warm water. When you fill the vase, make sure the cut stems are covered by 3-4 inches of the prepared water. The sugar nourishes the plants, while the vinegar inhibits bacterial growth.