Why is jerry west on the n. b. a. logo?

NBA commissioner J. Walter Kennedy tasked brand identity consultant Alan Siegel to give the NBA a fresh new look. While searching for inspiration, Siegel stumbled upon a Wen Roberts photograph of West dribbling. The rest is history.