What does the moon have to do with waves?

The gravitational pull of the moon on one side of the earth creates a bulge in the oceans waters toward the moon as it orbits around the earth. As the tidal bulge moves around the earth it can influence the size and energy of waves. Surfers refer to this as tidal push.