What's the difference between ranch and buttermilk ranch?

Buttermilk ranch, as it states in the name, includes the extra tanginess of the buttermilk flavor from slightly aged milk/cream. Other ranch dressings do not have that as an ingredient and usually use simply mayo and cream.