Why is it called a jumpsuit?

The jumpsuit was first created in 1919 to be worn by parachuters who were, literally, jumping out of planes. Hence, the name jumpsuit. It was introduced to the fashion set in the late 1930's by Elsa Schiaparelli - a rival of Coco Chanel.