What does it mean when a cranberry bounces?

Growers use a simple test to see if a cranberry is ripe or not. They drop the berries and let them bounce over a wooden barrier. Air pockets in the cranberries make them bounce, so if the berry is damaged it won’t bounce over the barrier. The bad berries drop down into throwaway bins