How much water is in a volcano?

Amount of water in a volcano varies by volcano. Mud volcanoes are more than 35% water. Traditional volcanoes exhibiting phreatic explosions usually have a significant fraction of intrusive water. Volcanoes with smoothly flowing lava contain little water.