Can parakeets see in the dark?

Budgies have excellent eyesight during the day, but they can't see well in the dark. Budgies should be kept in the dark at night, and have a regular sleeping pattern. While most owners cover their cages, some use a night light to prevent their pet parrots from experiencing night terrors.