How do you crouch in pokemon sword?

You automatically crouch when you enter grass in Pokemon Sword if you are not moving. Moving the thumb stick slowly when close to the grass will cause your character to crouch. Once you are crouched, move slowly by pushing the thumb stick in the direction you want to move to remain in sneak mode.