What causes a earthquake?

Earthquakes are caused by tectonic plates physically interacting. The more force behind the interaction, the stronger the quake.

---

Earthquakes are usually caused when rock underground suddenly breaks along a fault. This sudden release of energy causes the seismic waves that make the ground shake. Rocks and plates catch on each other.Rocks break because of the pressure that builds up. When the rocks break, the earthquake occurs.