What is the book high low?

Hi Interest - Low Reading Level Books (Hi-Lo Books) encourage reading for the reluctant reader. Books are written at lower reading levels, but appeal to the reader's interest level. They help build reading fluency, vocabulary, background knowledge and interest in reading.