Who invented avocado toast?

In the 2010's avocado toast became a modern food trend. Cafe menus have listed avocado toast since the 1990's. A 1962 New York Times article was written explaining how to serve avocado as a filling in a toasted sandwich. Historically eating avocados dates back 10,000 years ago in Puebla, Mexico.