Where do pine nuts come from?

Pine nuts come from pinyon pine trees. These pines are native to the United States, although other pines with edible pine nuts are native to Europe and Asia, like the European stone pine and the Asian Korean pine.

---

Approximately 20 species of pine trees produce pine seeds that are large enough to harvest. The most commonly harvested seeds come from four particular pine tree varieties: the Mexican pinon, the Colorado pinion, the Italian stone pine, and the Chinese nut pine.