How do you cut a plantain?

Cut off the ends. Place the plantain flat on a cutting board. ... Slice the skin along the ridges. If you examine the plantain you'll see that its peel is ridged lengthwise. ... Remove the peel in strips with your fingers and the knife. ... Slice off the extra bits of peel.