What's the difference between a miniature poodle and a toy poodle?

The difference between the toy and miniature poodle is their size. While their standard counterparts stand at 15 inches, a miniature poodle stands between 11 and 15 inches tall at the shoulder. A toy is around 10 inches. Poodle coats come in a variety of colors, but do not differ by breed.