How long do flea eggs live?

The beginning of the life cycle occurs when an adult female flea lays eggs following a blood meal from the host (I.e. your pet). Blood is necessary for the adult flea to reproduce. Eggs take anywhere from two days to two weeks to develop, hatching when conditions are just right for them.