Why do dogs eat everything?

Besides food, dogs tend to eat things with certain scents especially of their owner, such as socks shoes ect. Eating(tearing things up) in most cases is anxiety or separation anxiety when they are left alone. Dogs eat grass ifthey feel sick and grass will make dogs vomit making them feel better.