What animal is a hot dog from?

Hot dogs are typically produced from beef, pork, and lamb.

---

Pork and beef are the traditional meats used in hot dogs. Less expensive hot dogs are often made from chicken or turkey, using low-cost mechanically separated poultry. Typical hot dogs also contain sodium, saturated fat and nitrite.