How did we get on this planet?

Scientists believe Earth formed in this way about 4.6 billion years ago. Early in the process of its formation, a planetesimal the size of Mars hit Earth, knocking a big chunk of Earth into space. Scientists believe that chunk started its own orbit around Earth, becoming our Moon.